My experiences with thru-hiking

Grand Randonnee Five

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 1, 2009

May 01 2009

May 01 2009

The GR5 is a trail that starts from Hook Van Holland at the North Sea.  It meanders through Belgium, Luxembourg and France, climbs over the Swiss Alps, and finally ends at the Mediterranean Sea near the south of France. It covers approximately 1500 miles, and takes about three and a half to four months to walk the entire trail.

I read about it on a website and said…why not?

Right now, I’m stuck at the DFW airport. I’m heading to New York to catch a connecting flight to London, where, a few days later, I will catch a ferry to Hook Van Holland. Of course my flight’s delayed, but I need the time to catch my breath, and recover from my fine dining experience with Taylor, Brad, Goy and Mitchell at Ranch 616 last night in Austin. Following Brad’s example (which isn’t always a good thing), I ordered a Silver Coin margarita. They should call it a Mike Tyson, because I nearly didn’t make it past the first round.

The past 24 hours has been one giant-sized chocolate-chip muffin that I’ve tried to swallow whole with one bite. There was Deej’s Ravitones, Roslyn’s “surprise” lunch, the colossal REI care-package from Sanders\Wingo, the beautiful book with everybody’s best wishes, Lady Wendy’s early morning pick-up and quick bite at Magnolia’s before we headed to the airport, plus all the love from the agency on my last day.

I definitely left with a lump in my throat.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dj said, on May 5, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Tear, Tear, Tear, Tear, Tear,Tear,Tear,Tea,Te,T,T,T


Leave a Reply

