My experiences with thru-hiking

Waffles

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 5, 2009

May 02 2009

May 02 2009

I’m staying at Dale and Alice’s place. I’ve known Dale since sixth grade in Goa. Through some crazy coincidence, Dale was dropping his mom off at Heathrow around the same time I was getting in. She was flying out to Madrid (she was pronouncing it as MAD-rid, just for kicks), while I was flying in from Dublin, still recovering from another crazy delay at JFK in the States.

Later, after reaching his place, Dale and I walked around his neighborhood. We drank a couple of ciders at a place in Bricklane on the east side of London. The area reminds me of Austin.  It may just be all the fixed-gear bikes, scooters and novelty shops selling all the latest and greatest. The sun was out and there was a cool breeze, perfect for a pint or two and some stimulating conversation about gentrification.

We finally met up with Sergio and Matilde (new Italian friends of Dale’s) at another pub. Alice joined us a little later. The Italians convinced us to join them for dinner at a Bengali restaurant. The food was pretty oily, but the company was laugh-out hilarious. I decided it was an opportune time to throw out my theory that the world is divided between people who love pancakes and people who love waffles. I don’t think I made an impression. Oh, well.

By the way, I’m a waffle kind of guy.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dj said, on May 5, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Waffles Rule! Ya ya

  2. Bette said, on May 5, 2009 at 8:45 am

    tears and waffles for me Ravi!

  3. Rhonda said, on May 5, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Pancakes, those soggy old wet balloons. Blech.

  4. Hot Rox said, on May 5, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Waffles dipped in curry. Yummy!!!!!!!!

  5. Mari said, on May 6, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Chicken ‘n waffles!
    Glad you got there safe. Have a good trip.

  6. robert said, on May 6, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Waffles for the win.


Leave a Reply

