My experiences with thru-hiking

Curious, But Friendly

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 12, 2009

May 07 2009

May 07 2009

Set out for Rockanje and lost my way again. The trail markers are hard to find. They can appear anywhere: on a tree, pole, wall, ground, bench, signpost, the list goes on. It can also appear as a plastic bag. I mean, come on!

The mark is just a red and white stripe. (It helps to have a map, I guess. Couldn’t get any maps for this section of the trail in the States. Will need to find a store on my way.)

So I decided to blaze my own trail, basically walking on a highway, and reached Rockanje in good time, but wasted another three hours walking around aimlessly searching for a campground, thanks to bad advice and direction. I’d prefer to camp wild, but apparently it’s illegal in Netherlands. Not. Taking. Any. Chances.

My feet and shoulders are begging for mercy, but my heart and mind are still fighting the good fight. Got a nasty blister on my left pinky toe. Should take a look at it before I head out tomorrow.

The owner of the campground dragged two of his neighbors to meet me as I set up my tent. He wants them to translate his questions, because he doesn’t know any English. He wants to know what an American is doing in these parts. After I explain my long walk and get some satisfying nods from him, I chat with Denise whose English is really good. She explains that not a lot of tourists come through Rockanje. Most of them visit the cities.

Rockanje is one of the bigger ports in Netherlands, so a lot of the industry involves distributing goods across Europe. Otherwise, it’s a sleepy little town – just the way I like it.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brandon said, on May 13, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Did you tell him you’re not American?

  2. Ravi said, on May 13, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Too much trouble!
    The other two know I’m from India.


Leave a Reply

