My experiences with thru-hiking

Encounters at the end of the world

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 12, 2009

May 03 2009

May 03 2009

Nice thing about London: it comes with instructions.

Woke up really late today. Had a light breakfast with Dale and Alice, outside on their patio overlooking some church grounds.

Met up with Jason, a friend of Dale’s from Cornell. Jason is planning to walk the GR20 in Corsica later this month. It’s a fifteen-day hike across the island. I think he’s going to love it. He just finished buying all his gear.

Jason invited Dale, Alice and I to watch a documentary called “Encounters At The End Of The World” at a nearby theater. It’s about Antarctica, and the crazy people who are drawn to the South Pole. I highly recommend it.

On our way back, we decided to grab some Thai for dinner. I spied a beef panang on the menu and ordered it to see how it compared to the P41 beef panang at Madam Maam’s in Austin. Bad idea. It came nowhere close.

Hung out with Alice’s friends, Anne and Holger, at Nelson’s Bar later that evening.  Anne and Holger have known Alice since seventh grade – childhood buddies like Dale and I. Told Holger about my plans to walk the GR5 from Holland. He thought it was crazy, and pointed out that Holland was pretty much flat, and suggested I ride a bike across the country or catch a ride, sitting in someone’s basket.  He’s a funny guy that Holger.

Tomorrow, I need to go pick up a Europe plug for my computer before I set out.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bradlio said, on May 13, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    It ain’t no P41 son!!!


Leave a Reply

