My experiences with thru-hiking

Quiet And Quaint

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 12, 2009

May 10 2009

May 10 2009

I get to Zierikzee on a Sunday, which means the stores are definitely closed. I think I need to buy some thicker socks. Left my thick socks back in London. Genius.

This time, the campsite is close to town, so it’s not much of a walk. I’ve done more walking than I need to in the past few days, and it’s been hard. The trail in Holland has been mainly concrete, and walking on concrete with hiking boots, well, that’s just not a good idea. Also, the trail has been flat this whole time, so only certain leg muscles are getting used, basically messing them up a bit. My right knee is acting weird. I’ve got a slight limp.

Zierikzee is a pretty town with lots of cobbled streets. There are a couple of canals that come into the center, and I can see people working on their boats.

I order myself a soft-serve ice cream and wander around the town and catch myself in a window reflection, and I sure don’t look pretty. I really look homeless with two backpacks strapped on to me, holding an ice cream. I’m definitely raising a bunch of eyebrows everywhere I go.

Most of the people look away from me as they ride by, some smile, and a few give me the head nod. It’s one of those “I see you there doing your thing and I respect that” head nods. I can live with that.

I pass the police station here and see that it’s closed too.

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. anneken piperiver said, on May 12, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Ravi, I adore you for hiking through the Netherlands (somehow hiking + The Netherlands just doesn’t sound right together)- even more once I am reading you journal!! Save the memories of sweet flat landscapes, they might offer you some relief once you will be struggling your path up and down the mountains!
    Go! Ravi! Go!!!
    (btw. I am doing a quite good job walking on only two legs these days!)

  2. Bradlio said, on May 13, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Uhhh did you just say ‘Soft Serve’ …. ?

  3. Christian said, on May 13, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Darling,
    I can’t stop laughing. Actually, stopped myself from pissing on the floor while Carter walked by. You are missed my friend. This place surely lacks your hilarious laugh and sarcastic comments. Anyhow, let me know if I need to call my friends in Germany to give you a ride or blister support.
    Hang in there, don’t shave and don’t forget to smile at all the pretty ladies along the way… over and out…

  4. Roxanne said, on May 16, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    you sound sick. COME BACK RIGHT NOW!!! 🙂
    BY the way, my friend Sheryl lives in Amsterdam. If you need a friend or a place to stay, let me know.


Leave a Reply

