My experiences with thru-hiking

Curry Ketchup

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 19, 2009

May 13 2009

May 13 2009

Took the bus to Antwerpen. Though the lady at the “Informatie” said it was only 35 kilometers away, I thought the bus ride was kind of long. Had to take three buses to get there too.

Spoke to a Turkish kid while I was waiting at a bus stop. He was on his way to school, and asked me a lot questions about my trip. He looked sad, because he had problems with both his knees that made them weak. He couldn’t explain why, only that he was having them operated in a month or so. He couldn’t bike to school like the other kids, and had to take the bus. He was a little envious that I was walking my way through Europe. I didn’t tell him about my blisters.

After crossing the Holland-Belgium border, a pharmacist, sitting next to me in the bus reassured me that I was heading in the right direction, and that I hadn’t missed my stop yet. Told him what I was doing (buying maps for my walk), and he shared his thoughts and reminisced about a walk he did in Spain a long, long time ago.

Got to Antwerpen and bought my maps. Decided to check out downtown, and was a little disappointed with the brand stores all over the place. Ordered some french-fries, and was sternly told that they were Belgian fries. Oops, my bad.

Saw a cute girl with pink hair, and she smiled at me.

I have stored that image in the back of mind – for those moments when I need a lightening bolt of inspiration on the trail.

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Taylor said, on May 20, 2009 at 7:28 am

    Hey Ravi!! Just catching up on your blog entries! I’m interested in this Curry Ketchup…is it tasty goodness??? Maybe I will try to make some for Bradford! Take care, Taylor

  2. Wendy said, on May 27, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    oh Ravi, all the girls smile at you. You’re just never looking. too busy picking at your blisters and stuff like that.


Leave a Reply

