My experiences with thru-hiking

Hey, It’s That Guy!

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 19, 2009

May 14 2009

May 14 2009

Left the StayOkay Youth Hostel and headed for Kalmthout. I’m walking through Belgium now. After a few kilometers, I realized I was on the GR12 trail. I found my way to Essen, where I got back on the GR5 trail. Walked a little over 30 kilometers.

On the way, I saw a lot of cows. Every time I pass them, they stop what they’re doing and just stare at me. It’s like word has gotten out that some idiot is walking with a backpack, and they can’t believe it’s true. They just stare, chew grass, and stare some more. Even the horses stare. I don’t mind the horses, but the cows weird me out. Gary Larson was onto something.

Bought a couple of apples and a box of blueberries from a local market. If you cut a blueberry in half, you’ll see that it’s green on the inside.

Couldn’t find a campsite when I got to Kalmthout, and kept walking on the trail until I found a spot, away from the homes so I could wild camp it. Just in the nick of time. I heard rumbling in the sky. By the time I got into the tent, it started coming down hard.

It’s going to be tough packing a wet tent tomorrow morning.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wendy said, on May 27, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    like this photo.


Leave a Reply

