My experiences with thru-hiking

Leon

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 19, 2009

May 18 2009

May 18 2009

Woke up this morning and took a look at my right foot, and I still have some kind of inflammation. Sheesh. It’s obviously infected – one look at it will cure you of your foot-fetish. Guaranteed.

The pharmacy is open today, so I head over there. It was closed yesterday, because EVERYTHING is closed on Sunday in these small towns.

The lady at the pharmacy gives me a solution to take care of the infection. Use it three times day, she tells me. Will do.

I hang back in Grobbendock, and try not to walk around too much. I keep reading. I’m looking for Wi-Fi, but can’t find any.

Leon, the owner at the campsite, also takes an active interest in my blistered feet. He plots a bus-train trip for me to Maastricht, telling me to check out the place while I recover, then get back on the trail from there. May do just that. That’s him in the picture doing some work around the campsite. His wife surprises me at noon with a cup of Belgian soup – a hearty mix of vegetables and meatballs in clear broth. Mmmm.

In India, you will find cows on the city road, and they act as natural speed breakers, forcing you to slow your car down.

These blisters are my cows.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bradlio said, on May 19, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Only in your foot-fetish isn’t heightened more by that yummy inflamama-tion 🙂 uuuhhhh I mean uhhh

  2. Shannon said, on May 19, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Hey Ravi,
    I want to see less of Leon, and more of that cute little face of yours! Seriously though, if you take shots of your mug we can see you go from Austin Ravi, to Christian Bale in the Machinist Ravi at journeys end.


Leave a Reply

