My experiences with thru-hiking

Taking A Day Off From My Vacation. Yeah.

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 19, 2009

May 17 2009

May 17 2009

Decided to shave my half-assed beard. I can never get that meaty beard growth, you know. I’ve stayed back in Grobbendonk, and have decided to rest and catch up on some reading. I’m in the middle of a book called “Shantaram”. Good stuff.

Walked into the bathroom and bumped into the same elderly gentleman from yesterday. His name is Jermaen, a retired radar technician. Before his radar stint, he flew for the Belgian Air Force, and was briefly stationed in El Paso, Texas. I mentioned that the ad agency I worked for have their main office there.

We shave at our respective sinks like men. He is a man of few words, but he has a lot to say about my blistered feet, emphasizing the need to take care of them. I wholeheartedly agreed with him.

The last three days have been really rainy here in this part of Belgium, but today the sun decides to come out in the evening. I hope it stays that way until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

