My experiences with thru-hiking

Walk Towards The Light

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 19, 2009

May 15 2009

May 15 2009

Didn’t want to get up this morning. It was nice and cozy in the tent, like a womb, if a womb is considered nice and cozy. Not sure about that simile, but I still like the sentiment.

My right foot is giving me trouble now. First it was the left, and now it’s the right. It’s like they’re playing good cop-bad cop, trying to break me.

Thankfully, the trail leaves the bike path and I get to walk in the countryside. I still see a lot of cars though, and I’ve noticed one thing: people here are not a big fan of bumper stickers. No “My son is an honor student”, none of that “Jesus is my homeboy” stuff. In the US, it’s an industry. Maybe the bigger cities have kids who put bumper stickers on their cars, but I doubt it. Everything here is so immaculate!

Reached Brecht a little earlier than expected, but I knew this place didn’t have a campsite. So as soon as I found a spot, I took advantage of it. I’m not sure, but I might have been on someone’s farm, but pretty far from the house. A lot of the properties here have electric wire fencing to keep the wild stock from wandering, but the spot I picked didn’t have any fencing, so I thought it was good to go.

Did hear some weird sounds around me during the night, but I ignored it. It rained again. Another wet tent morning. Yuck!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wendy said, on May 27, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I love this post….I can hear your voice when reading it. This makes me smile and then selfishly sad.


Leave a Reply

