My experiences with thru-hiking

Detour

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 20, 2009

May 19 2009

May 19 2009

So I took a train to Maastricht.  Had to go up to Brussels Noord, and take a connection. The first train smelled like piss and the next one stank of beer. Shouldn’t that work the other way around?

Two seats in front of me sat two guys talking in English, and I found myself eavesdropping on their conversation. It was nice to hear some English. They talked about the EPA, something about General Motors, and lots of important stuff about the environment – I quickly tuned out.
Got to the StayOkay Hostel in the afternoon. After walking some of the Flanders portion of Belgium, the trail takes you near Maastricht, which is in Holland, and then swings back into Belgium again, through the Wallonie section.

The picture above could easily be from the set of “Gattaca”, but it’s a government building near the center.

After dropping my stuff off at the room, I got to the reception to check my email and such, and quickly got talking to Kylee from Australia. She’s taken a year off to travel through Europe, and she’s got three months to go. She’s had blister issues too, and that got us sharing stories about our trip through Europe. She’s got some far out stories, like the one time she was chased by a male prostitute in Florence. After she lost him in the streets, she got back to her hostel and was about to open the door of her room, when the male prostitute showed up right behind her. Luckily, the hostel staff chased him off. Crazy. She tells me Kylee is the Australian aboriginal word for boomerang. She and I eventually go for a chocolate run. Good times.

I come back to the hostel to find that some dude has moved my stuff to another bed, and is sleeping on mine. Great. That’s why I prefer camping.

Leave a Reply

