My experiences with thru-hiking

A Tip About Water

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 25, 2009

May 22 2009

May 22 2009

Had a long walk ahead of me to get to Nessonvaux.  Now that I’ve hit some hills, I see other hikers walking the trail, though they are just day-hikers. Nice to see I’m not the only one, but I still look like a freak with the luggage on. Can’t wait to meet some other long-distance folks.

Ran out of water somewhere close to the end of the day. Not the best thing to happen on the trail. Saw a man in his garage and asked him if he spoke English. When he answered yes, I quickly asked him for water. Michel filled my Camelback and Klean Kanteen, and he told me that he’s walked the GR5 trail from Holland to Luxembourg. He says it’s very pretty. His friend Roger joins us, and Michel tells him about the walk. Roger can’t speak English, but as he slaps his palm against his forehead repeatedly, I can tell he thinks I’m crazy.

Michel also gives me a tip for acquiring drinking water on the trail. Cemeteries, he tells me, all have drinking water. Not a bad tip, because I keep passing a lot of cemeteries.

Not sure I’ve reached Nessonvaux, but I grabbed the first nice space I can find and camp there for the night. Heard no cows.

Whew!

Leave a Reply

