My experiences with thru-hiking

Happy Hikers

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 25, 2009

May 23 2009

May 23 2009

What a lovely morning. Decided to get up late and try to make it to Spa. It’s a long way off, but I hope I get there, because they have a campsite where I can shower. And I need that shower.

While walking in the hills I saw a bunch of hikers, and one family in particular decided to chat with me. They were from Holland, and had come to Belgium for the “good hiking in the hills”. They were very friendly, and the youngest kid had a lot of questions for me, while her Dad patiently translated back and forth. She wanted to know where I slept on my hike – stuff like that. They were all doing an eight-kilometer hike, and the kids were taking it really well. The best part was the candy break, and they shared a Kit Kat with me. It’s amazing how good conversation can make the time go by so quickly.

After we split ways, I kept walking on, and suddenly realized I was out of water again. And what do you know, there’s a cemetery right around the corner. So I filled up on water, as a dog kept barking at me from a distance.

I’ve had dogs bark at me every day, and they look vicious. Some have even hurled themselves against the fence to get at me. These are serious dogs, not the kind you dress up for Halloween.

Was getting tired, so I found a spot in the woods and wild camped for the night. I think tomorrow I’ll hit Spa.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mari said, on May 26, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Hey, a dog in a bumble bee outfit can be vicious, too, alright?
    Keep up the walking! I’m in awe of you!

  2. Christian said, on May 26, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Darling, you know what they say in Germany. Dogs that bark don’t bite. Love your spirit. Paul and Antoine had a great time by the way. Indubitably, Paul did make it to work this precious morning. Slacker!


Leave a Reply

