My experiences with thru-hiking

Up And Away

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 25, 2009

May 21 2009

May 21 2009

Walked to Vise today. I hit some hills, so the flat areas are behind me, and I look forward to struggling with the load on my back.

Gone are the grey skies, and the sun is out sucking every drop out of me. Summer has arrived.

I turned a corner in the woods and at least forty kids are walking down the trail with their backpacks. It was awesome. Some of them dropped down into the tall grass and started shooting at me with their imaginary guns. I kept my cool. Almost wanted to do a Matrix thing and bend backwards, but I do have a big-ass backpack on, you know. The teachers had to get them in line, and as they walked by me, the kids looked at me in wonder. They probably thought I was a soldier or something.

Further on, Pierrot, a young man catches up with me, and wants to chat about the GR5. He (like other Europeans) walks the GR5 in bits and pieces. I think with my pack and all he guessed I was doing the trail. He asked me if I had GPS. He was carrying a Garmin and he showed me the trail on the screen.  Pretty cool. I will stick with my maps for now. Maps don’t need batteries.

Finally reached Vise. Met these two ladies who are out on a pilgrim walk. One of them knows about the GR5 trail, and has walked the trail from Lake Geneva to Nice. She looks me up and down and says that I’m carrying too much. We pose for a picture, both of us pointing to the GR5 marker. May need to shed some stuff when I get to Lausanne.

Couldn’t find a campsite, so I finally found a spot and camped wild. I kept hearing a cow bellow through the night. It sounded real close.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cara said, on May 25, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Looking good; glad to hear you took the advance and posted pics of yourself.

  2. craig said, on May 29, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I find it funny that the first thing kids think of when they see Ravi-the-hiker is ‘lets shoot him.’
    Didn’t you tell them you are part Texan?


Leave a Reply

