My experiences with thru-hiking

Rice!

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 29, 2009

May 27 2009

May 27 2009

Headed for Ouren today. I passed Burg-Reuland, and started my hike in a new country: Luxembourg.  It’s taken me 20 days to pass through Holland and Belgium.

There’s a campsite in Ouren, so I picked up the pace and got there around 5.30pm. The campsite has a restaurant, so I quickly showered and ordered the “plat du jour”, which was a chicken marsala thingy with crisps and rice made with vegetables – just what I needed. I practically inhaled the food, and I think I alarmed a few of the other diners when I nearly vacuumed the plate with my mouth.

I haven’t eaten any rice since I started this trip, so it was great having some for dinner. You should know that one-third of the Goan diet consists of rice, so I naturally crave rice. The other two-thirds of the Goan diet: fish and curry.

Got an early night’s sleep next to the lake, and fell asleep to the sound of lapping water.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bradlio said, on June 22, 2009 at 8:36 am

    That’s why you’re the Curry Casanova my friend.


Leave a Reply

