My experiences with thru-hiking

Table For One – Story Of My Life

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 29, 2009

May 28 2009

May 28 2009

Got up to a cold morning and slight drizzle. Not a good thing. I had washed some clothes last night, and they were still wet. So that means I have to carry wet clothes too.

After I packed my stuff, tying the wet clothes to the outside of my backpack, I set out for Dasbourg-Pont, which is on the Luxembourg-Germany border.

As soon as I left Ouren, the familiar GR5 marker (with the red and white stripe) disappeared, and was replaced by a yellow circle. Luxembourg has it’s own trail-marking system, and I have to get used to the yellow circle, until the proper GR5 marker comes back up in France.

I got to Dasbourg-Pont and bought a few snacks from the gas station, and crossed a tiny bridge into Germany, where I sat and ate a late lunch at a picnic table. After I was done, I crossed the bridge back to Luxembourg and tried to cover some more distance.

Finally saw a campsite and pitched my tent. The office is closed, and the owner who was walking about asks for my passport, and says he’ll return it the next morning after I pay for the night. Sounds like he’s had trouble with other campers. Hope I get my passport back.

Anyway, the hot water is free here, so I have a nice, long hot shower. The bathrooms are unisex, so both the women and the men’s showers and toilets are in the same area. The women here are definitely not shy about farting loudly. (When you have to go, you have to go.)

After the shower, I grabbed some food at the restaurant. The campsite has a really fancy restaurant, so I treat myself to the steak.

I needed the protein.

Really.

Leave a Reply

