My experiences with thru-hiking

The Dark Clouds Keep Following Me

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 29, 2009

May 26 2009

May 26 2009

The hiking is getting better now. I’ve got lots of hills to climb, and they offer spectacular views of the valley. My feet have stopped hassling me too, that’s because I’m practicing proper blister management.

(The trail has been really muddy, and every step feels like the mud is trying to yank the boots off my feet.)

I was heading for the town of Vieslam and got there early in the afternoon, and grabbed a bite from a small snack place. I decided to move on and cover some more distance and passed a grocery store, where I bought some grapes and apples.

Stopped at the top of one of the climbs at a bench, and sat and at my grapes. The grapes were from Chile, according to the plastic bag they came in.

I kept on walking, trying to get to Burg-Reuland, which is the last stop here in the Wallonie part of Belgium – the French-speaking part, I might add. I must say that it’s worth visiting the Wallonie area, because it’s really beautiful.

Got close to Burg-Reuland, and found a spot and camped it wild. Just after I pitched my tent, it immediately started to rain.

Good timing.

 

Leave a Reply

