My experiences with thru-hiking

Vianden

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on May 29, 2009

May 29 2009

May 29 2009

Saw that sign on a door right across from the church.

I’ve reached Vianden. Victor Hugo lived here as part of his self-exile from France, and wrote some of his better poetry in his home by the river. The home is now a museum – of course.

Got here early, and checked out the castle on top of the hill, and found the youth hostel while I was up there. I was early – they asked me to come back at 5pm to check-in, but they did allow me to leave my big backpack behind.

Found a patisserie and grabbed a bite to eat.

I’ve noticed that the people here are stuck in the eighties. The music, from every youth hostel to every campsite to every restaurant, has been culled from the eighties pop charts. How strange. I’m talking Scorpions, Wham, Duran Duran, Phil Collins – stuff like that. There are some songs I remember, but I’ve forgotten the artist. Like that “Every time you go away, you take a piece of me with you…” song. Who sings that? Can’t remember. I’m guessing a Paul something. Hmm. Anyway, I swear every campsite has the same CD, and they keep playing the songs on a loop.

I’m not complaining. It’s just bringing back a lot of memories.

 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indira said, on June 1, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    That would be Paul Young. I like their taste in music… but then again, I’m old.

  2. Ravi Costa ie., the other guy said, on June 5, 2009 at 1:31 am

    Any progress on getting some clogs into your tent dude??!!! 🙂 Am enjoying your blogs immensely…. Takre care and stay cool.
    Cheers

  3. Wendy said, on June 9, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Hmmmm….sounds like a future home for me. Rock on with your bad self, Ravi!


Leave a Reply

