My experiences with thru-hiking

Bernhard

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 7, 2009

May 30 2009

May 30 2009

Had breakfast with Bernhard at the hostel before setting out for Gilsdorf. Bernhard is from Germany and is a designer for Audi, strictly in charge of the cooling system for the car. He’s also crazy about biking around the world. Over the years, he’s cycled across Australia, biked it down from Canada to Tijuana, and pedaled his way through Pakistan. I asked about his next adventure: his boss has given him four to five months off this year to bike from Kenya to Cape Town. Wow – nice boss.

Bernhard has also traveled to Alaska, taking the ferry from Bellingham (near Seattle) to Juneau, Haines and Skagway – some of the places my friend Sheryl and I have hiked through. I had heard about this ferry service back then, and would love to go on it someday.

We talked about bikes obviously. He and I agree that the whole fixed-gear bike thing is really weird. Also talked about what job would be perfect for me after my trip, and he thought I should work for an outdoor company like Patagonia or The North Face. So if anybody has
contacts or know of a job in these great outdoor companies, let me know or
forward my blog to them. Thank you.

After breakfast, I put my gear on and started out for Gilsdorf. Lots of hills, up and down, up and down, over and over again. Reached Gilsdorf early and decided to move on and cover more
distance. Reached Eppeldorf after a long day and saw no campsites there. Had to climb another hill to get out of the sleepy town to get into the woods and find a quiet corner for myself.

Leave a Reply

