My experiences with thru-hiking

Sunny In Echternach

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 7, 2009

 

Jun 01 2009

June 01 2009

Echternach is a great town. On my way there, I bumped into a ton of day hikers, and it’s nice to see people enjoying the great weather. It’s been cool and sunny these past few days. There’s a river running through the town, and there are people on kayaks too. After finding the campsite and putting up my tent, I decided to walk around to check things out. That’s the trouble with this hiking holiday. You hike to a place, and if you have time, you’re still walking to check out the town. Need to give these legs some rest.

Finally got something to eat, and headed back to the campsite, and bumped into Ben and Katy. They’re from the US, and were recently teaching English in the Bordeaux part of France, and are now traveling to see the rest of Europe.

Later, before going to sleep, I had a chat with my new tent neighbors. George introduces himself and asks me if I’m on foot. He and his wife Monique are biking through Luxembourg. They’ve biked around quite a bit of Europe, including Greece where George is originally from. He cautions me about leaving stuff in the tent, because while he and his wife were camping in Greece, some guy unzipped their tent and stole a few of their things in the middle of night. The bags were right next to them! Imagine that.
They didn’t mind the money, but were pissed that their camera was taken. It had over two hundred pictures from a recent trip to Italy. After filing a report with the police, the man at the station said that they were lucky, because they’ve had incidents where tents were cut open with a blade. 
I don’t want that to happen to my tent. It would definitely set me back.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wendy said, on June 9, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Take one of the dogs to stay with you.


Leave a Reply

