My experiences with thru-hiking

The Great Outdoors

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 7, 2009

May 31 2009

May 31 2009

Packed up my tent and decided to head for Grundhof. The topo-guide I’m using says there’s a campsite there. I’ve been sweating profusely, because the sun is out, and the hills are getting steeper. Unfortunately, there are no switchbacks to ease the climb. I believe I’ll only
see switchbacks when I hit the Alps.

Got to Grundhof and the campsite is ridiculously crowded. It looks like Coachella has come to town, only there’s no music. I decide to push on to the next town.

On my way to Berdorf, I turned a corner in the woods and saw an army of rock-climbers hanging from ropes, digging their fingers into the hard rock. Berdorf has a rock-climbing school and there’s a huge class out and about. I hang around for a little while, enjoying the company of other outdoor enthusiasts. There’s a girl struggling up the hill with a big blue mattress. I’m guessing she’s going to do some bouldering.

Found my campsite at Berdorf and settled in. I grabbed a sandwich from a shop run by a Turkish woman. Her kids are watching Hannah Montana on the small TV set. It’s the first time I’m watching the show and it’s awful, but the German-dubbed version is freaking hilarious.

I have a short day’s walk to get to Echternach tomorrow, where I’ll stay for two nights. I plan to take a detour and catch a bus to Luxembourg-Ville to see the big city.

Leave a Reply

