My experiences with thru-hiking

Whining And Wining

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 7, 2009

 

Jun 04 2009

June 04 2009

I was determined not to get lost today, and there were some places where the trail markers were acting the fool. It kind of changes here in Luxembourg a couple of times: from a yellow circle to a green triangle to a yellow rectangle, and finally back to a yellow circle. I was looking out for yellow rectangles on trees, posts, benches, fences, just trying to be eagle-eyed – I did good.

I was now in wine country, passing through kilometers and kilometers of vineyards. The trail actually takes you through the vineyards, and up some steep, narrow stairs and then back down, and so I was doing this roller-coaster ride of sorts when I came upon a group of people bottling wine. They just stopped and looked at me, and one of them asked if I wanted a glass of wine and I was like “uh, yeah”.

I threw off my gear and hung out with the group as I sipped on a Rose from a Pinot Noir. It was light and refreshing. The man who offered me the wine also filled my bottle with Rosport sparkling water. Rosport was a town I had earlier walked by, but the trail didn’t enter the town, just went around it. It’s known for its source of sparkling water, like Spa in Belgium. I asked him he drank Spa too, and he says he drinks only Rosport. I am from Luxembourg, so I drink what’s made in Luxembourg, he declares.

They had 40,000 bottles to fill and it looked like a long night for them.

I thanked the man for the wine and sparkling water, and was back on the trail to Ehnen, where I knew there was no campsite or youth hostel, and would probably need to wild camp it. After passing the town, I found a spot too close to the road (not a lot of options), so I didn’t really get any good sleep. Nibbled on some leftover dark Belgian chocolate, my only solace after a long day of walking, but it was good.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roxanne said, on June 12, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Finally. A picture of you.


Leave a Reply

