My experiences with thru-hiking

A Meeting With A Pakistani

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 08 2009

June 08 2009

I’m now walking through the Lorraine part of France. I haven’t seen any other hikers on the trail, and I guess it’s because the long holiday weekends are over for now. I was on my way to Amanviller when I passed through a town called Rombas. I saw a grocery store and wanted to buy some fruit, but it was a wholesale store, and I didn’t want to carry 20 apples with me. As I stepped out of the store, I bumped into some guys who were just sitting around doing nothing, but drinking beer. One of them was from Pakistan. He said he was a refugee and immigrated to France, and had been living there for a year and a half. He didn’t have a job, and the guys he was hanging out with didn’t have one either, and he went on and on about the current state of unemployment in France. He’d recently moved from Paris to Rombas, which is a sleepy little town. I have no idea what he’s really doing there. His story didn’t add up. He was kind of surprised to see an Indian in that part of France.

Anyway, I went to a nearby café to get a bite to eat, and met a lady there who was really interested in my walk. She promptly went through my guidebooks and told me all the places I should avoid and told me the towns I should visit instead. I don’t think she understood that I was following a trail, but I nodded appreciatively.

Got back on the trail and saw a bunch of older men practicing archery near the woods. The very same woods I later walked into and found a cozy corner to pitch my tent. Good times.

Leave a Reply

