My experiences with thru-hiking

Artisan

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 09 2009

June 09 2009

Got up early and headed out for Ars-Sur-Moselle. I am using a book that was published back in 1986, and is the only source of information in English about the whole GR5 trail. It says that today’s walk is only 11 kilometers, but the new topo-guides I’m using (only available in Dutch or French) says it’s like 28 kilometers, so obviously the trail has changed, and it’s going to be a long day.

After all the cows and sheep in Holland, Belgium and Luxembourg, I’m now seeing other animals in the woods. I’ve caught some foxes darting away in the distance, seen some wild rabbits and one deer. Nice.

Passed a small town on my way to Ars-Sur-Moselle, and stopped at a boulangerie to pick up a sandwich. It was still morning and people were running around with a baguette under their arm, even breaking into them and munching it on their way home. The sign at the boulangerie said it was an “artisan” bakery, and the bread was pretty damn good. While I was eating a pastry outside the store, a gentleman asked me if I was walking the GR5. When I said yes, he started saying a whole bunch of stuff in French that I couldn’t follow, so I just kept on nodding my head. So far, the only French I know covers important things like ordering food and asking directions.

I finally made it to Ars-Sur-Moselle and passed the town, which took me up the hill where I camped out with a view of the valley. I dined on a sandwich, crafted from the “artisan” boulangerie.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bradlio said, on June 22, 2009 at 8:57 am

    This is unit 14 of Pimleurs Speak and Read Essential French 2.


Leave a Reply

