My experiences with thru-hiking

Beer Runs

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 07 2009

June 07 2009

Didn’t do much in Thionville. I had to find an ATM machine, and Phillipe at the Youth Hostel helps me out by throwing me into his car and driving me around the town to look for a BNP Paribas bank. He’s in Thionville for some training, and since it’s the weekend, he doesn’t have much to do. He spends most of the time with either a beer or a cigarette in his hand. So after checking out the nearby ATMs, we go shopping for beer. All the stores are shut in Thionville since it’s Sunday, so we end up in Luxembourg at a gas station. Phillipe stocks up with 18 cans of beer, and flirts with girl behind the counter.

When we got back, I took a walk around the old part of the town that’s now full of retail stores, where I discover a little movie theater. The only movie playing in English was called “Easy Virtue” with Colin Firth, Jessica Biel and Kristin Scott Thomas. It was a comedy, and it reminded me of the P.G. Wodehouse books I read when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

