My experiences with thru-hiking

Henk and Henk

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 19 2009

June 19 2009

I’m switching topo-guides now, and one says there’s no camping in Schirmeck, while the next topo-guide says there’s a campsite. When I get to Schirmeck, there are no campsites, but apparently there’s a refuge, and head in that direction, but can’t find it. I finally end up in another town called Rothau, where there’s a campsite. It’s like three kilometers away from the GR5 trail in Schirmeck! Yikes.

It’s cold and rainy, and I manage to put my tent up. It’s still noon, so I decided to catch a train to Strasbourg, where I’ll get some Wi-Fi access and upload some stuff to the blog.

Tomorrow, I plan to catch a bus back to Schirmeck to the trail and head out to Le Hohwald, where, apparently, there’s a campsite. Let’s see.

Leave a Reply

