My experiences with thru-hiking

Proust!

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 14 2009

June 14 2009

Didn’t really get up this morning, because I was pretty much up all night. So, I was already packed and ready to go by six am. Got to Vic-Sur-Seille around noon and had a nice shower and rinsed out my muddy clothes. The campsite was about a kilometer away from the center of the town, so I walked over there and bumped into Harry and Ronald who just got in. They were surprised to see me there early, all refreshed and relaxed, and I told them about yesterday’s lost episode.

While they headed out to the campsite, I tried to get a Wi-Fi connection, but had no luck – so I walked back to the campsite.

Sat with Harry and Ronald at the campsite that was overrun by kids. The place had a swimming pool and there were a lot of families there for the day. Harry and Ronald bought me a couple of beers, so there I was sipping on some Kronenbourg. Still need to acquire a taste for beer though.

We headed back into town to grab some dinner and found out that everything was closed. There was no place we could find to grab a bite. We ended up at a bar where I switched back to Coke Light, and Harry and Ronald had a few beers. The bar didn’t even have snacks or appetizers.

We headed back to the campsite on an empty stomach, but slept really well. Not sure if it was the lack of sleep from yesterday or if it was the beer.

Leave a Reply

