My experiences with thru-hiking

Rain Rain Go Away

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 15 2009

June 15 2009

Got up late and saw that Harry and Ronald already were putting their backpacks on. It didn’t look like a good day with the dark clouds rolling in. By the time I got ready, it already began to rain, so I pretty much had to set out in the drizzle. I picked up some food from the boulangerie and began my walk to Assenoncourt, where I’d have to wild camp it.

Pretty much had to walk it in the rain the whole day. The boots got mucky and the worst part is walking in cut grass, because it gets stuck under your boots too. It looks like you’ve got a piece of carpet stuck under you as you walk. It slows you down a bit.

Got to Assenoncourt, a small village with only a handful of houses. I saw the sign for the chamber d’hote and gathered that my new friends on the trail were resting nice and cozy inside. I walked on until I found a good spot and pitched my tent. It rained all night. Tomorrow morning is going to suck big time.

Leave a Reply

