My experiences with thru-hiking

Speaking Of Peaks

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 17 2009

June 17 2009

Today Harry and Ronald headed out to the bus stop. They’ve finished their one-week on the trail and are on their way back home. I say my goodbyes and start packing too, because I’m still on the trail, heading now to Abreschviller.

On my way there, I catch a boulangerie van in the next town and grab some food for the way.

For some odd reason, and thanks to the fast-pace I endured with Harry and Ronald from the other day, I’m making good time on my walk to Abreschviller, and I get there in the afternoon. And I don’t feel so lost anymore, because after a few pointers from Ronald, I’m keeping my eyes glued to the map, and making sure I’m heading in the right direction.

I get to the campsite and walk around the town of Abreschviller. It’s not a big place, and I was hoping to get some Wi-Fi connection, but fat chance. It’s a quaint town, so I was a little surprised to see the risqué painting of the witch near an old age home.

Two guys on motorcycles showed up at the campsite and I chatted with one of the guys briefly. He was from Holland and his English was pretty good.

Went to sleep early. This was my last stop in the Lorraine part of France. From here, I could see the mountains. France has three mountain ranges: Vosges, Juras and the Alps.

Tomorrow is day one in the Vosges, and the hike takes me to a summit, so it’s going to be a real test. There aren’t the hills anymore. I look around and if I squint my eyes and ignore the language around me, I could be in Colorado.

Let’s see how things go.

Leave a Reply

