My experiences with thru-hiking

To Mom & Dad:

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 19, 2009

 

Jun 18 2009

June 18 2009

The two guys on motorcycles from Holland invited me to have tea with them this morning. They are retired police officers and are touring around Europe. They tell me that both their names are Henk, spelled with an “e”. We are Henk and Henk says one of them to me.

Last night I managed to find a Tabac in town, where I bought a phone card to call my parents and wish them a Happy Anniversary. I haven’t called them since I left the US, so it was about time. But they’ve been reading the blog, so that’s good.

As I get to the mountains, I think Wi-Fi access is going to be pretty slim, so the updates are going to be every ten days or so.

After my call, I started my hike – up hill most of the way. I reached the summit of Donon around four in the afternoon. It was a tough climb and had to do some scrambling at the top. I got to the bottom with any problems, and after getting on the road to Plate Du Donon, I tripped over the sidewalk and fell flat on my back. An old couple driving their car past me, looked at me like I was freak.

I was a beetle on it’s back flailing my arms and legs. Man, it’s tough to get up with backpack on. Anyway, I messed up my right knee, scraping it bad, and had to crawl to a bench to disinfect it and put a band-aid on it. Oh, well.

Walked over to the only restaurant and hotel in town and had myself a nice dinner, and kept on walking, looking for a place to pitch my tent.

 

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. alda said, on June 20, 2009 at 7:49 am

    it was great to hear from you the timing was so right. we had a lovely time and thought of you a lot. we are enjoying your blog. love mom

  2. Bradlio said, on June 22, 2009 at 9:14 am

    You looking like you are losing some weight sexy cheeks. I just want to make sure you are still huggable by the end man, you don’t want to be disappointing the ladies.

  3. Mari said, on June 22, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    It was so long since your last entry, I was worried! But I’m glad to hear you’re walk is going well. Be careful in those mountains!

  4. Christian said, on June 23, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Good luck SEXY. And be careful. September is coming soon and I would love to see you in one piece my friend. Enjoy the mountain. It is getting to pretty there… Miss you man.

  5. ross said, on June 23, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    patrao-just spotted ur facebook post of the blog.its a refreshing read and i’m full on happy ur doing the walk. seems like ur making brisk progress.i think you would do well to supplement your diet with wine and beer whilst supporting local business;)

  6. Scotty said, on July 3, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Hope your folks had a great anniversary. Did you go down for it?


Leave a Reply

