My experiences with thru-hiking

Castles

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 24, 2009

 

Jun 23 2009

June 23 2009

This summer, while Tom Hanks is running around Europe looking dapper than ever in his new blockbuster, chasing Angels & Demons, fighting off men in robes, staying at fancy hotels, eating at five-star restaurants, deciphering even more clues…I am laboring up some hill like a mule, grunting and sweating like a pig. Or should I say a “pule” or a “mig”?

Of course, I’m seeing my share of castles and ruins too, as I walk by a fairy-tale looking castle called Haute-Koenigbourg that was unfortunately overrun by tourists, and saw the Chateau de Haute-Ribeaupierre and two other ruined castles, before heading down into the town of Ribeauville, where I found myself a campsite and finally (and I mean finally) threw my stinky clothes into a washing machine.

And how does Tom Hanks always manage to find some beautiful woman to be his sidekick? I have no clue.

Leave a Reply

