My experiences with thru-hiking

Half Way There

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on June 24, 2009

 

Jun 21 2009

June 21 2009

There were lots and lots of people on the trail today. There’s an outdoor club called Club Vosgien that takes care of the trails in this part of France and there are many trails crisscrossing each other. There are day-hikers doing local trails, people on mountain bikes whizzing by, other backpackers heading some other direction, people on road bikes slowing down cars, so I’m keeping my eye on the map so I don’t get lost with all this distraction.

The trail climbs to the convent of Mont Sainte-Odile. It’s a religious center and shrine for the Alsace people who live in this part of France. I ate an ice cream in honor of Alsace’s patron saint.

Got back on the trail and reached Barr, where I grabbed a sandwich and headed for Andalau. The English guide says that Barr is the half way mark on the GR5 trail. Woo-hoo!

The French guide says there’s no campsite in Andalau, but that there’s a refuge an hour away on the trail. The refuge is run by Les Amis De La Nature, which means friends of nature. I was hoping that they were friends of people too and let me stay the night. After walking up the hill for an hour and a half, brutal after a long day of walking, I reached the refuge. I didn’t know what to expect, but it was a nice place with showers and comfy beds. There were a bunch of people playing cards and drinking beer, and one of them showed me to my room and immediately showed me where the showers were. I’m sure I was really stinking up the place.

It was nice to finally fall asleep in a nice, cozy bed.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bette said, on June 24, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Naked hiker day, June 21. Did you happen by any?


Leave a Reply

