My experiences with thru-hiking

Ferry Rides

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jul 06 2009

July 06 2009

I was surprised by the trail to Villers-le-Lac. It was a pleasant walk with steep climbs and even steeper descents, but I’ll take that any day over the slippery trail. The guide said that I’d pass a waterfall called the Saut de Doubs, which is a national site, and sure enough I came across the waterfall. Not much of a waterfall, if you ask me.

I decided to ride the ferry to Villers-le-Lac where I heard I could find a campsite. When I got to the tourist information center, they told me the town had no campsites. As I was looking for the gite in town, I bumped into Ruth, who had to cancel her stay at another gite, because it was located five kilometers off the trail.

We ended up at the gite closer to town and near the trail. It had a kitchen, so we shopped for some groceries and ended up eating omelets for dinner. It really hit the spot.

Leave a Reply

