My experiences with thru-hiking

Francis and Guy

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jul 03 2009

July 03 2009

So apparently Saint Hippolyte – the next town I need to get to – has a campsite. Which is good, because I desperately need a bath. On my way there, I bumped into two Belgian backpackers. Guy and Francis are from Liege, and every year they take ten days off to do a bit of the GR5 trail.  I told them that I watched the Liege versus Brussels match in Spa and cheered when Liege won. They both smiled.

We shared the trail for a little while and I told them of Ruth and how she too is walking the GR5 trail, and around lunchtime Francis and Guy decided to stop to take a break. I was eager to get to the campsite, so I headed off to Saint Hippolyte.

After taking that glorious bath and washing out my clothes, I headed into town and bumped into the Belgian guys who were now walking with Ruth. I guess they finally bumped into each other on the trail.

The four of us later met up at Ruth’s hotel and had dinner. I finally had some fish. This area is known for their trout.

Leave a Reply

