My experiences with thru-hiking

GR5 Friends

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jul 10 2009

July 10 2009

Left early with Ruth and headed to the cliffs at Mont d’Or. From there, you can get a glimpse of the Alps and Mount Blanc. I think Ruth had fun seeing me gasp at the sight. It looks beautiful and daunting. She thinks it’s smart that I’ve walked with a heavier pack through Holland, Belgium, Luxembourg, Lorraine and through the Vosges and Juras, because that’s the training I’d need to do the Alps section.

We reached the town of Mouthe pretty early and met up with Christine and Christian at the gite. I was planning to camp at the campsite next door, but Christian had booked a room with four beds and asked me to use the extra bed.

Mouthe is next to the source of the Doubs, so Ruth and I went there to check it out. It was pretty cool to see all this water gushing out of the rock that eventually forms the River Doubs, and to think we walked along the river a few days ago.

We later had dinner, chicken and sausage stew with vegetables, plus couscous. The dessert was a chocolate pastry in a bed of sweet cream. Good stuff.

Christian and Christine insisted on my paying for my stay and dinner at the gite. I tried to argue, and Ruth looked at me and said it’d make them happy if they treated me.

I accepted their generosity, enjoying the luxury now, knowing I still had more days to suffer in the Alps.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bradlio said, on July 16, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    DAAAAAAAMN dude!!! You look great, Ericka said she’d do you for sure now… and I would too. I mean uhhhh. Dude, I can’t believe you and your long lost Snuffalufagus are reacquainted!!! Niiiice.


Leave a Reply

