My experiences with thru-hiking

In The Juras

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jul 01 2009

July 01 2009

Had another eight-hour walk today. Left Giromagny pretty late, because I had to return the key to the town hall, which opens only at ten. Great.

I’m now in the Juras section of the hike. It’s still the mountain range, but not as big as the Vosges. The Juras eventually meet up with the Alps at Lac Leman.

The guide says that it’s an eight-hour walk today and I feel every step. Had to take a lot of breaks, because I’m really worn out.

Crept into two cemeteries to fill up on water, and was barely an hour away from Chatenois-les-Forges when I heard rumbling in the sky. I quickly pitched my tent and waited for the rain, but the storm blew to some other direction. Decided to stay put. Will have to add that hour to tomorrow’s hike to Vandoncourt.

 

Leave a Reply

