My experiences with thru-hiking

Need New Boots

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jul 08 2009

July 08 2009

Packed up a yucky wet tent this morning and had to navigate through some crazy mist on the trail. Because of the extra time I put in yesterday, I had a shorter walk, but it ended up a lot longer than I expected.

The trail has been going past farmhouses, and it’s obvious that herds of cows use the same trail when they go from one pasture to another. That’s why the trail looks like it’s been churned like butter, and the mud is hard to walk through. It’s been slowing down my pace and I probably look like I’m cross-country skiing with boots on.

And it doesn’t help that the soles on my boots are completely worn out. Might need to buy new boots before I head out for the Alps.

Stopped for lunch around noon. No benches or picnic tables and had to share a big rock as a table with a French couple. It was nice chatting with them. They asked some questions about my trip on the GR5, and told me they’d done the GR10 trail that’s in the Pyrenees. They said it was beautiful out there.

I said goodbye and headed for Cluse-et-Mijoux. Even though the guide said that there was a campsite, there was none. I went past the town and up a hill to see a cool fort that sits alone on this hill. I had run out of water, and it gave me a chance to fill up.

Walked past the town on Frambourg and found a nice enough spot to camp wild. It rained all night again. Not having a lot of luck with the weather. It was really cold too, and it’s July. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

