My experiences with thru-hiking

Stormy Days

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jul 04 2009

July 04 2009

Walked up a hill today and Jesus appeared before me. In fact, he’s been appearing before me every time I make it up some hill or turn some corner in a small village. This country has got statues of him on a cross almost everywhere. They say God is everywhere, but Jesus sure gets around in France, and I’ve seen it with my own two eyes.

So while I was walking up a hill after getting to Fessevillers, I heard the sky rumbling and managed to escape into a small wooden hut, and I spent two and a half hours there waiting for the rain to stop. So I basically got to Goumois pretty late, nearly nine o’clock at night. But I did find the campsite, so all was good.

Goumois is a small town in a valley surrounded by steep mountains, so it looks like it sits in a bowl. The River Doubs runs through it and the place for some reason reminds me of Japan. When I got there in the evening, it was all misty. The campsite was on the river, and across the river is Switzerland. The next two days I’ll be walking along the River Doubs and looking over at Switzerland – pretty cool, if I might say so.

Leave a Reply

