My experiences with thru-hiking

The GR5 Diet

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jul 11 2009

July 11 2009

Ruth and I have decided to walk together these last few days in the Jura. Her husband plans to meet up with her at La Cure and walk with her to Nyon, where they will catch a ferry back to their home in Evian. I, on the other hand, will catch a train at Nyon for Lausanne.

Today, we walked to Chapelle-Des-Bois in pretty good time. Got there by two o’clock. The walk was beautiful and wasn’t too hard, going through lots of meadows.

The gite we got to was great. Chapelle-Des-Bois is a ski resort in the winter, and the area is known for its cross-country skiing routes. In the summer, people come for the great hikes and bike trails.

The gite has a weighing scale and I weighed myself. I now weigh 81 kilos, which is 178 pounds. When I left Austin, I weighed 240 pounds, which is 109 kilos. So I’ve basically lost 62 pounds. Ruth says I’ve pretty much lost a pound a day.

And I still have another five weeks of the trail in the Alps.

I’ll have to stock up on some Indian food in Lausanne. Sustenance!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ravi said, on July 14, 2009 at 5:40 am

    Hey Ravi,
    Good to see that you are still at it. Again i have to ask my question…. get any clogs in your tent as yet!!! 🙂 Your trip is amazing and so is your diary. One of these days, i hope to be able to re-kick start my camping/ trekking days. Lisa and i are doing fine and will be in goa end of the month. Intend to walk from the yellow and black taxi, up the steps to my place and chill with a cold one!!! Take care dude. cheers from lisa and I

  2. ross said, on July 14, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    patrao, good to see that the trip is not wearing you down. its seems ur carrying a lot of load for constant trekking.we just got back from newfoundland/labrador after a 13 days. camped every night but one where we ran for a b&b coz it was pouring down two nights.gr8 to know ur muscling up for the alps;) keep it toasted.

  3. Antoine Harris said, on July 16, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Dude… A pound a day. I think you need to leave now… no wait… this post was from a month ago. That’s 30 more pounds. WTF. You’re gonna have to change your blog to littlebellyhappyravi.

  4. cara said, on July 16, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Wow that is awesome. We miss you tons. BTW, in Running for Cover, was that character reference what I think it was? And, aren’t there bored models on the trail?

  5. feuille said, on July 16, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Dude. Just got caught up on your trip. It sounds incredible. The generosity of the people you’ve met is really something else.
    We miss you around here. Hope things keep getting better and better for you on the trail.

  6. Mari said, on July 21, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    WOW!!! Look at you. I hope you’re eating okay to make up for all the calories you’re losing. Be safe!

  7. Mari said, on July 21, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    And you’re looking great, by the way!


Leave a Reply

