My experiences with thru-hiking

Tough On The Feet And The Wallet

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jun 27 2009

June 27 2009

Le Markstein is a tiny ski resort and I was looking forward to staying at the Amis De La Nature refuge there. Of course, they were full, and the caretaker went out of his way to find me a place, and took me through the woods to another refuge only to find it closed. It was already eight o’clock at night and I was dog-tired. After another half an hour of walking around the resort, he took me to a hotel. It was the only option.

The hotel stay set me back a bunch of Euros, but I decided to make the most of it, spending a ton of time soaking in the tub that evening. Tomorrow the trail was going up to the highest point in the Vosges and I needed the rest.

Tried to watch some TV, but everything’s in French and there were a lot of reality TV shows on late that night. Not a big fan of the reality TV show.

 

Leave a Reply

