My experiences with thru-hiking

Wild Camping Can Be Worth It

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 11, 2009

 

Jun 26 2009

June 26 2009

Had a miserable walk this morning. It rained for four hours straight, and I probably had one of the worse emotional lows on the trail. Ruth said that she was staying the night at the Club Alpin and that she’d check to see if there was room for me, but I told her that I would probably press on. Of course, by noon, after the rain, I was having second thoughts, and decided to stop at the Club Alpin refuge. Just as I got there, the sun came out and lifted my spirits. I filled up my bottle with water and headed to Lac Du Schiessrothried.

Had to pass Le Hohneck with it’s amazing views and finally got to the lake. The refuge there was closed, so I camped. It was really beautiful. An hour and a half later, some two rangers showed up with a dog. One of them had a gun holstered to his belt. I told them I was camping only for the night and they were okay with it.

Slept really well. Mmmmm. It was the perfect wild camping spot.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mari said, on July 13, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Wow. That’s beautiful.


Leave a Reply

