My experiences with thru-hiking

In Nyon

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 19, 2009

 

Jul 13 2009

July 13 2009

I was really impressed that Nala, Ruth’s dog, walked the five hours to Nyon. She did it like a pro.

Once we got out of the woods, I could feel the sun beating down my back, but I didn’t care. I was walking towards a week off from the trail! I wasn’t too exhausted, but I did need a mental break.

Stopped at Saint-Cergue and picked some lunch, and after checking out the views of the lake and Alps as we walked towards Nyon, we stopped and ate our sandwiches in some shade.

Got to Nyon and Bill helped me buy my ticket to Lausanne. We decided to head to the waterfront and grab some ice cream, and watched all the tourists walk by. It was nice to see Ruth finish her goal: completing the France section of the GR5.

As I mentioned earlier in another post, Ruth had already finished the Lake Geneva to the Mediterranean section two years ago, and after a knee operation, she came back to do the Lorraine, Vosges and Juras section. And she plans to come back in a few years and finish the Holland, Belgium and Luxembourg section one day.

Awesome.

I saw Bill, Ruth and Nala off at their ferry, and caught the train to Lausanne.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mari said, on July 21, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Aw, sad you’re going to miss your hiking partner.


Leave a Reply

