My experiences with thru-hiking

Switching To Pen And Paper

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on July 19, 2009

 

Jul 19 2009

July 19 2009

Today is my last day in Lausanne. I set out for the Alps tomorrow, and I’ve decided not to carry the laptop with me. I need to carry a lighter load when I hit the Alps, and it’ll be one less thing to worry about. It’s also been difficult climbing up rocks and going downhill with a front pack, because I can’t see where I’m placing my feet. I don’t want to be half-blind in the Alps.  So I’m switching to pen and paper, and after the trip is done, will fill up the blog, somewhere in the last week of August. I plan to leave some stuff here at Romeer’s place and pick it up on the way back to London.

So this is the last entry for now. Do come back and read the rest at the end of August, if the blog has been interesting enough for you so far.

I’ve put up a picture of a simple drawing of the map and route of the GR5. You can click on the image to make it bigger.

 

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christian said, on July 21, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Sistah,
    Be safe. And when you return send me an email, since I will be in the neg of the woods… Perhaps, you even might be interested in joining me for my birthday in Germany. 😉 just a thought…
    Miss ya man.
    C

  2. Mari said, on July 21, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Ok, I think I missed you, but have a great rest of your trip. There are a few of us out on a shoot talking about you and your trip… you’re doing great!! We miss you!

  3. feuille said, on July 23, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Hope you’re having a great time in the Alps, man. Looking forward to reading about the rest of it in August.

  4. ross said, on July 24, 2009 at 11:56 am

    happy bday costa. odlo za.

  5. Christian said, on August 1, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    gosh sistah you are getting old. We miss you. Just watched for the first time “Into the wild”. He reminded me of you… oDD I don’t know why? ;0)

  6. Rad Tollett said, on August 11, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Hey man,
    By now you are probably dead in the alps. I’m fairly certain it was an animal attack.
    I’m not sure there are any bears left up there. The Swiss are known for their bear cruelty and, as such, most have died off. If that’s the case you were probably picked off by European wolves. While these wolves – with their saucy French accents and penchant for Riesling – are not as magnificent as their North American counterparts, it is still a dignified way of going out. I’m hopeful our agreement is still in place and that your legal arbitrator will mail all your hiking gear to 1919 Hanover, Richmond, VA, upon finding your remains. Please have said arbitrator retain all underwear, socks and boots.
    But if you somehow make it through without dying and getting eaten by wolves, drop me a line. Miss you, buddy.

  7. Roxanne said, on August 16, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Jesus Christ Ravi. Are you still walking around?? tee hee hee

  8. feuille said, on August 17, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Hey buddy. Good to hear from you. But you got me all excited to come over here and read about the rest of your trip. Where are the updates? 😉


Leave a Reply

