My experiences with thru-hiking

Don’t Go Chasing Waterfalls

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on August 28, 2009

 

Jul 24 2009

July 24 2009

Today, the trail took me along a river and up to a waterfall, where I took a break and had a tuna sandwich. Thanks to Ruth, I discovered these cans of tuna that come pre-mixed with either mayo or mustard or olives or some regional sauce. So I’ve been picking up these cans every now and then, and all I need is a baguette to make a simple and tasty sandwich. Anyway, I had the tuna-mustard and it was good. Had to walk uphill some more and stopped at a restaurant to sample their sorbet. It was a hot day, so a sorbet break was much needed. I ended up chatting with this guy at the next table for almost two hours, and I still had another six hours to go on the trail. I said my goodbyes and headed out and reached some refuge in the middle of nowhere. It was the Chalets D’Anterne, but I still had to walk another three hours to get to the Refuge de Moede Anterne, the place I was hoping to get a bed for the night. At the Chalet, I bumped into a German couple doing a part of the trail with a donkey too. Apparently, there’s a town nearby where a guy rents out donkeys to help you carry your stuff on the trail, and even gives you a map and itinerary. After chatting with them, I had to put on my rain gear, and I spent the next three hours walking in the rain and mist. I couldn’t see the trail markers, and had to rely on the cairns. I was a little lucky to catch the dark shapes of the buildings and found the Refuge De Moede Anterne. When I walked in, everybody was surprised to see me. The man coming out of the storm just soaked to the bone. I had a quick shower and decided to grab some dinner too: a nice helping of polenta with cheese and sausage. Hit the bed and slept like a log.

Leave a Reply

