My experiences with thru-hiking

Chateau Queyras

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on September 4, 2009

 

Aug 06 2009

Aug 06 2009

The highlight of the day was passing the Chateau Queyras – a fort (and there are many in this country) where tourists can climb through and over with Via Ferrata, a series of fixed cables and ladders. So I could see a bunch of people storming the fort when I walked by. Pretty cool.

I got to Col Fromage (now couldn’t the French think of another name?) and finally reached Ceillac and found the campsite. I spent the evening watching folks hike up the mountain and paraglide down. I think that’s something I’d like to try one day. It’ll be considerably easier on the knees, me thinks.

The guide says that Ceillac is the woodworking centre in the Queyras region. I didn’t see any evidence of this woodworking. Should have visited some stores, but I was too beat to walk around anymore.

Slept. Really. Well.

Leave a Reply

