My experiences with thru-hiking

Misty Mountain Top

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on September 4, 2009

 

Aug 03 2009

Aug 03 2009

I was one of the last people to leave the refuge this morning. Everybody pretty much scrambled out of there as soon as the sun came out. I bumped into a guy who asked me about my hike, and when I told him I’ve been walking from Holland, he took two steps back and bowed. Of course I turned red.

Anyway…it turned out to be an easy walk today, and there were a lot of people on the trail. I managed to catch up with Stephanie and Emmanuelle three hours later, and walked with them for a little while and then decided to pick up the pace. We were heading for Plampinet, but I had to take a detour to Nevache to get to a campsite.

Someone at the camp told me that the town of Nevache was a UNESCO world heritage site, but didn’t bother to explain why. People here just randomly volunteer information like that without any explanation.

Met a French lady camping nearby and, after hearing my long story, she asked me why I quit my job during a recession. Good question. I gave her my reasons and I had her nodding her head in no time. She agreed with me.  Amazing. I must be doing something right.

Leave a Reply

