My experiences with thru-hiking

Ooooh Snap!

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on September 6, 2009

 

Aug 13 2009

Aug 13 2009

Thought I escaped the rocky trail nightmare, but the GR5 decided to throw all the rocks it could at me. I fell down twice and broke my hiking stick on my second fall. It was all a blur. I was just happy it didn’t draw any blood or leave me with scraped knees. Good thing I had another hiking stick; they come in pairs.

Later, I bumped into a French man hiking on his own, and we hiked for several hours together. He and his wife were on vacation, and while she pampered herself at some posh hotel in Nice, he was hiking and wild camping it on the GR5. She doesn’t like to hike, so we have to comprise, he tells me. Even though he was spending just a week on the trail and was on his way to meet his wife in Nice, he sounded like he already missed her. Well, at least he had me for company!

We walked through seven cols, the highest number of cols I’ve walked through in a single day – the trail never gets any easier. Had to walk for three hours in shards of rocks, and then over boulders. I started to limp a little, favoring my left knee, and I was glad I decided to head to Nice.

When we got to Utelle, I found the gite and discovered I had the whole place to myself. Yeah! My French friend decided to keep going. He wanted to get to Nice early and surprise his wife. He left with a smile on his face.

Leave a Reply

