My experiences with thru-hiking

Surrounded By Rocks And Some Trees

Posted in Hiking GR5, 1500 miles across Europe by onefootatatime on September 6, 2009

 

Aug 12 2009

Aug 12 2009

So I guess the summer vacation is over here in France, because there’s not a lot of people on the trail now. The hike is on a rugged path today that was once used by mules back in the day or used by people with mules. The Mercantour part of the trail is really rocky and my left knee is not liking it so much. The walk down from Serre to St. Sauveur sur Tinee is a 500-meter drop full of rocks and by the time I got to St. Sauveur sur Tinee I was exhausted. I stopped to eat something and struck up a conversation with this French guy. He and his girlfriend were walking the GR5, and his girlfriend was having issues with her boots. She had a ton of blisters. New boots, he tells me and shakes his head. I shake my head too. I’ve been there, and I know what that’s like.

I got to St. Dalmas after another three hours and found my campsite, and decided to grab a pizza. The restaurant was also an Artisan Glacier where they made their sorbets from scratch, so I couldn’t pass that up.

At this point of the trail, I had planned to take the GR52 to Menton, instead of the GR5 to Nice. After assessing my knee situation, I decided to stick to the GR5. I started with the GR5, might as well end with the GR5 at Nice.

Fell asleep thinking of sorbets.

Leave a Reply

